“The Porch Light”

So the other night around 9pm I went out my front door, to put the trash out by the curb for pickup the next morning. As I went out the door, I reached over and flipped on the switch for the porch light – and nothing happened. Nothing. Confused, I switched the switch up and down a few times, and still nothing. “What the heck?” I said. “This thing has always worked! I’ve never had a problem with it before! I just wanted to take the garbage out!” The thing that I counted on – the thing that I took for granted for always being there, wasn’t. I had to go get a new light bulb before it would work again.

I know you’re thinking “What the heck does this have to do with anything?” Well, sometimes I think we end up treating our darling wives like a the porch light! Being men, we tend to “move on the next challenge” after we get married. We think “ok, we got her, so now what’s the next challenge?” Our wives are left going “hey, where’s that romantic, talk on the phone with me into the wee hours of the morning, send me flowers all the time – guy I married?” – While we’re out working on the hot-rod  in the garage. We go through our day, week, month, acting like they will always be there, always know that we love them, always cook us dinner, always be “madly in love” with us, etc. – and never put any (or much) thought into “maintaining” or working on our relationship. How about trying to speak HER love language every once in a while?! If she’s anything like Val, she loves it when I take some time out of my night, turn off the TV, get off the computer, set my phone down, and give her even 20 minutes of my undivided attention and listen to her (without Sports Center in the background – because I know you were thinking about it.). I know this seems crazy to us guys, because after a long day talking to people at work, sometimes the last thing we want to do is talk – but this is HUGE for our wives (which if you’ll remember, don’t think like us)! Our wives just want to feel like they are #1 in our lives, and REALLY LISTENING to them talk about their day or what’s on their mind – is a great way to show that. What’s even better, is that most of the time I don’t even have to say much! It’s all about truly listening to her. That’s just one example. I’m sure you can come up with several more. So here’s a challenge: Don’t settle for the “same old, same old”, “ho-hum”, “same as it’s always been” relationship with your wife! Do something this week that you know she loves, and do it without any strings attached. You’ll be surprised how far a little creativity goes. It might just make her day.

    • Kath
    • August 3rd, 2011

    True. I also think we wives sometimes get so “busy” and caught up in our stuff that we forget to show our husband the love, support, and appreciation they need. Being married is the greatest gift. The person God has placed to walk through life with us is so precious. Every day is a new gift and we should treat it that way. With a “thank you”, an “I love you”, a smile, and a hug. How blessed we are!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

