Kick Your Wife Out of The House!

Not permanently, just for a little while. Here’s the scenario:

You walk in the door after a day at work, and it looks like a tornado by the name of “3 kids” has blown through the house. Your wife looks up from a pile of laundry with a “thank God you’re home” look on her face and gives you a half-smile.

You put your work stuff down, and soon find out that in between the kid that pooped on the floor, the 6 loads of laundry, and the baby that has spit up on 3 sets of clothes, it’s been a doozie of a day for your poor wife, and she is about at the end of her rope.

You have a couple of options at this point. You can either choose to ignore that your wife is about ready to lose it, and turn on SportsCenter, or you can say “hey hon, after dinner, I got the kids – why don’t you head to Starbucks for a while and catch up on that book you’ve been wanting to read”. She will most likely try to put up a weak protest saying something about how she’s ok, and needs to get stuff done here, but if you tell her you’ll finish the laundry, and that she needs to take the time while she can, she will probably be out the door before you finish speaking.

For those of us husbands who are blessed with wives want to stay home and do the amazing job of taking care of the kids, we need to make sure they are still getting some time to themselves. Sometimes we forget as husbands, that just because they “get to stay home all day”, it is nowhere close to “restful” most of the time for our dear wives. You think a rude customer at work is hard to deal with? Try a teething 1-year-old who wants to be held all day. At least with the rude customer, he will finally leave the store after a while, not so with the teething kiddo. He’s there ALL DAY.

“But I just got done working all day, I want to be able to come home and relax, not play babysitter”. That’s great, if you want to watch your wife slowly lose her drive to even try anymore. She needs that couple hours alone every once in a while to help her “refocus” and “regroup” a little. You at least get your lunch hour and breaks at work. I heard one mom say she’d be thrilled just to be able to use the bathroom, without a child knocking on the door needing something.

Contrary to popular belief, stay at home moms do not sit in front of the TV all day long and eat bon-bons. ๐Ÿ™‚

So, if your wife stays at home with the kiddos, give her some “HER TIME” often. Even if you have to schedule it and make it a once or twice a week thing, do it! Not only will you have a much happier and composed wife, you’ll get to build your relationship with your kids in the process! The other day Ben (5yrs), my oldest, told his mom that “she needs to go somewhere, because we haven’t gotten much time with dad lately.” Plan a movie night, or take the kids to the baseball field. Make it a fun time that the kids look forward to! Sometimes we get a little too involved in our work and forget the kids need their DAD to PLAY with them too. They’re only kids for a limited amount of time, don’t make the mistake of thinking work needs to come before that game of catch.

Give you wife few hours away from the crazy. Who know kicking your wife out of the house could be such a positive thing! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • taighbeag
    • August 5th, 2012

    My hubby works away from home, so I don’t even get the break of him coming home and yes, I have had several nervous breakdowns. I can see why pioneer women went crazy! Sometimes, I just need a chance to shower without hearing someone scream or go to the bathroom without an audience. The worst was when I was pregnant with our 4th in a high risk pregnancy and the kids and I had a stomach flu. I would be vomiting in the bathroom while my kids were vomiting in the living room. My daughter was so exhausted, she would vomit in her sleep and choke on it and there was nothing I could do until I finished. I would then crawl over to her, push her over to her side to get them vomit out of her mouth and stop the choking. Then it would be cleaning up of the 3 kids and back to the bathroom to vomit again and start the cycle over. Do you really want to trade your job for that? Do you think you can handle that?

    Also, family vacations equals more work for mom.

    Also, fathers, it is NOT babysitting when it is your own kids!!!! If you have that mentality, then you seriously need to go to God and apologize to your wife and kids for thinking of them in such a second rate, selfish way.

    • Wow, doesn’t sound like fun at all! And I agree about your babysitting comment. It’s kind of hard to babysit your own kids…lol.

      Thanks for the comment!

    • Reid Davis
    • August 18th, 2012

    Good words. I do this constantly. I *have* to. I would have a wife in the hospital (mental or regular) if I didn’t.

  1. 534885 194673I think you did an awesome job explaining it. Sure beats having to research it on my own. Thanks 496940

    • Collin Harward
    • March 11th, 2013

    Like this but my problem is with this is that I am the stay at home dad after a work injury left me with the loss of usage of my hand

    • Wendy
    • November 15th, 2013

    Wow!! This is awesome and I totally agree! Wish more Men read this blog and your awesome post! I think this could be applied to both Husbands and Wives…(secretly I wish my husband would read this)

    • Lol, thanks Wendy! Well, you could just leave it up on the computer screen, and say you forgot to close the browser? Lol! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

